Tags

, , , , ,

For too long, frenzy of work has kept me away from the blog. Today is an auspicious day, however, for me to return, and for two reasons.

First, today is my grandfather’s birthday, which I continue to celebrate nearly twenty years after his death. Birthdays are always good times for beginnings, and ancestors’ birthdays can be good times for renewal.

Happy birthday, Grandpa! Thank you for all you’ve done for me. I hope I can continue to benefit from your guidance and yield you further returns on your investment of love.

Second, today is the feast day of King Charles the Martyr, a hero murdered by democrats for believing he lacked the authority to overrule Christ in matters of church governance.

His martyrdom represents so much of the purpose of this blog. A lone and humble servant of God, he resisted the modernly hubristic mob who killed him for thwarting their aims, but felt the divine joy that let him proclaim, “I go from a corruptible, to an incorruptible Crown; where no disturbance can be, no disturbance in the World.”

May his incorruptible crown shine a perpetual example for all of us.

