Tags

, , , ,

We went and saw Thor tonight.

Because the old gods of the Northern Europeans are a subject of importance to me, I was worried about the show. I’d never read the comic book, but I understood that the film would treat Thor and his fellow Æsir more seriously than I had imagined they would when I first heard about the show. Consequently, I was worried.

Semi-serious treatment of serious things can often be far worse than ridiculous treatment of serious things. I’d rather, for example, see someone wearing a t-shirt depicting the Crucifixion with a caption that reads, “WWJD for a Klondike Bar,” than listen to someone make a serious argument that the primary value of Jesus Christ is as a teacher of good moral principles.

A good example of bad semi-serious treatment of the gods in recent action films can be seen in the remake of Clash of the Titans. It didn’t lampoon the gods, which would have been tolerable. It treated them as real beings — that didn’t deserve our notice.

So I was afraid of the semi-serious treatment of Thor and his kin in the film tonight.

I don’t think I needed to worry. Obviously this wasn’t high-quality devotional literature about the gods (such as the Way of Wyrd or Rhinegold), but it was respectful and fairly reverent. It was clear that Thor was not even close to the same class of hero as Ironman, Captain America, the Hulk, Spiderman, the X-Men, or any of the rest. He is undeniably divine, and it shows.

I would recommend it. It was faith-promoting in a way. Though never as much as a magnificent storm.

